Pancakes with Golden Syrup

I’ve made this pancakes a dozen of times by now, but I didn’t manage to blog about them until now. I’ve never had pancakes before coming to London. Not sure why, but probably because I used to make crepe when I was home, as my grandma and my mother before me did.

But since they say: When in Rome act like Romans :), I had to try and make some pancakes, and now I’m so in love with them, that I actually never prepared any crepes in a long time..

Now that I think about it maybe I should..soon..some savoury ones – with salmon, chives and creme cheese, or chicken and mushrooms? We shall see.

So many people enjoyed them, and I think now it’s time for me to share the recipe with you. To be honest I am not really sure where I found it but it works just fine for me.

pancakes_500_1

Ingredients:

190 gr plain flour

365 gr buttermilk (if you can’t find buttermilk – I know that for example in Romania – my home country – this is probably close to impossible to find – you can mix around 300 gr whole yogurt with 60 gr whole milk – and you’ll get buttermilk)

5 tbsp caster sugar (only 3 if you don’t like them sweeeet)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

pinch of salt

2 eggs

Method:

In a bowl mix together all the dry ingredients until well combined: flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder and sugar.

Separately in another bowl beat the eggs until fluffy, add the buttermilk and vanilla extract and mix until well combined.

Pour the eggs mixture over the dry ingredients and mix just until combined. Be careful not to  over mix or you’ll lose the fluffiness.

Heat a pan over high heat, and then turn the heat to medium low.

Pour the batter in the pan and wait until the margins look cooked and it’s bubbly on the surface, than turn the pancake and wait another  30 seconds or so.

I served them with Golden Syrup – which in my opinion is some sort of liquid candy floss – and they were amazing!!


Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert, Recipes

Leave a Reply

