Triple chocolate brownies

I’ve got a secret to tell you, and I am pretty sure it will shock you a little: I don’t really like chocolate.

I can live without it for days, even months and not complain, even not crave for it.

It’s true I eat it from time to time, but just because somebody offers me some, and I can’t say no, or because I can’t get my hands on some other sweet stuff.

My husband Alex is, however, made out of a different material. He loves chocolate.

He loves everything coated in chocolate, I could probably coat meat in chocolate and he will eat it.. You know like that episode in Friends when Joey ate the most disgusting thing in the entire world:  a cake made of meat, jam, and something else, and he kept saying it’s great. What’s not to like: Meat? Goood! Jam? Good! 🙂

So having this in mind, I decided to go for some brownies. I’ve baked brownies before, but couldn’t actually remember where I found the recipe, so I went searching for a recipe on blogs I loved.

And I found one, that sounded really good on Use Real Butter and I went home to do my baking.

brownie_500_mic

Ingredients:

I used one and a half of the ingredients Jen mentioned just because I have a big form, and I wanted to have enough, so that Alex will not be able to complain I baked too few :).

255 gr dark chocolate I used Divine Chocolate 70% cocoa

170 unsalted butter

3 eggs at room temperature

300 gr caster sugar

1 1/2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 brewed coffee

1 tsp salt

170 gr plain flour

50 gr dark chocolate chips

50 gr white chocolate chips

Method:

Preheat your oven to 176 C or 350 F.

Combine chocolate and butter in a saucepan until everything is melted evenly. Set aside and let it cool completely (I neved manage to do so, but you can make do with an almost cool mix 🙂 ).

In a different bowl mix together the sugar, salt, eggs, coffee, vanilla and cocoa powder until evently incorporated. Pour over the chocolate mix and mix until even in colour.

Add the flour and stir until just incorporated, and then fold in gently the chocolate chips.

Pour yout batter in the baking pan, try to level it with a spatula, so that it will cook evenly, and bake for 20-30 minutes or until a tester inserted in the middle comes out clear.

You are supposed to take it out of the oven and leave it to cool completely before you cut it, but we are never able to do that :). Still we wish you good luck! 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Triple chocolate brownies

  1. Good timing….I’m definitely in the mood for triple chocolate brownies!

  2. Thomas

    Hey,
    This recipe looks amazing and I plan on going to bake it asap, but what’s the measurement for the coffee? I think it should be tablespoons but I just want to make sure.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

