Naan bread

As I said in a previous post I like Kevin’s blog and I found here a recipe of Naad bread that I really had to try, and it was really great to be honest.

I served it on Sunday with lentils with bacon, the recipe will follow one of these days.

So..what do you think?

naan_1_500x500Ingredients:

1 1/2 tsp dry yeast

1 1/2 tsp sugar

115 gr warm water

1 tsp salt

375 gr white flour

90 gr melted unsalted butter

3 tbsp yogurt

1 tbsp melted butter for brushing

naan_3_500x500

Method:

Mix the yeast and sugar in the warm water until dissolved and let it rest for 10 minutes in a warm place.

Add the flour and salt followed by the melted butter, and yogurt and mix until a sticky dough is formed.  Knead the dough for 5 minutes, and then put in a slightly oiled bowl, cover it with a warm dump towel and let it rise for 90 minutes in a warm place.

naan_2_500x500

Punch the dough down, knead it for another 10 minutes, then divide it and form it into balls.  Roll the balls on a floured surface and brush each bread with melted butter.

Heat a pan on top of the stove and fry the bread on each side until golden brown. Serve it while warm.

As I said I served it with bacon and vegetables lentils. Alex said it was great :).

11 Comments

Filed under Baking, Bread, Recipes

11 responses to “Naan bread

  1. I love naan!! Ive honestly not made homemade before, thanks so much for the recipe!! 🙂 🙂

  2. Pingback: Bacon and vegetables lentils « The Sassy Foodie

  3. I made naan in the oven with a baking stone and the broiler (best way to mimic a tandoori oven), but it’s way too hot to do that in the summer. If I get around to it again before the weather gets cooler, I’ll give this method a try, thanks!

  4. it looks sooo good. i’m surprised it’s done on the stove. i always thought it was in an oven!

    • ralukmica

      @gaga: I don’t really have a baking stone nor a boiler..that’s why it was easy for me to use this recipe. 🙂
      @Tianne: it is probably done in a Tandoori over originally but I liked the fact that I could try this on the stove.

  5. Pingback: Hummus « The Sassy Foodie

  6. Sarah

    Thanks for sharing/linking to Kevin’s blog! I second being excited at being able to make this in a small apartment kitchen on hot summer days. And it’s delicious!

  7. Allison

    What do you do with the yogurt?

  8. Raluca

    @Allison: sorry just realised I missed that. You need to mix the yogurt in after the butter.

  9. Pingback: India in Idaho « anna cotta

Leave a Reply

