Saturday morning frittata

We love weekend mornings..we can wake up late..stay in bed..being lazy..and then we can have a proper breakfast..a tasty one..with lots of flavours and colours.

I wanted to make a frittata for a long time now, but I was missing the equipment..so on Friday I went on and bought a nice big ramekin like dish that I could use in my oven.

Yes I know a frittata is an Italian omelette prepared in a skillet on the stovetop and then broiled to finish, but I don’t have a broiler..so I just cooked my frittata in the oven.

I think you’ll find it looks absolutely gorgeous:

fri2 (Large)

Ingredients:

1 red pepper

1/2 onion

5 plum tomatoes

3 big mushrooms regular ones

4 slices of bacon

4 eggs

5 slices of goat’s cheese

another 2 plum tomatoes to garnish

a few parsley leaves

1 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

1 tbsp milk

fri1 (Large)

Method:

Heat the olive oil in a pan add the finely chopped red pepper, onions, mushrooms and bacon and saute for about 4 minutes until everything is slightly soft.

Separate the whites from the yolks, lightly beat the yolks with the milk and mix with the veggies and bacon. Set aside.

Lightly beat the whites – until foamy – but not stiff and then gently fold them into the egg-veggie-bacon mixture.

Preheat your oven to 170C – 350F.

Pour the mixture in your ovenproof dish and garnish with the cheese and tomatoe slices.

Bake itfor around 30 minutes or until the center is set.Since my oven is a bit strong in front compared to the back, I had to turn the dish around half way through.

Take out the dish from your oven and sprinkle some parsley leaves on top – to give it a nice contrast.

I trust this will make an extraordinary weekend breakfast.

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Recipes

2 responses to “Saturday morning frittata

  1. oooh i do love frittatas. they remind me of Spanish tortillas. 🙂 this looks lovely!

    • ralukmica

      @diva thank you very much! it was really tasty too..and yes it kind of reminds you of Barcelona and sun and Sangria 🙂

Leave a Reply

