Buns on fire

We like snacks but  I guess I already told you this :).. so last night we didn’t have any bread in the house..the perfect timing for baking something if I might say so :).

And I always wanted do make some buns .. So here they are looking absolutely amazing 🙂

Buns on fireIngredients:

For the buns:

600 gr all purpose flour

110 gr sugar

10 gr salt

20 gr milk powder

2 packages wet yeast (50 gr)

1 egg

300 gr cold water

60 gr unsalted butter

For the filling:

100 gr jamon serrano

1 big onion

100 gr cheddar cheese

2 tablespoons tomato paste

1 teaspoon oregano

salt and pepper

2 eggs for the egg wash

The buns:

Mix together all the dry ingredients very well. Maybe it’s a good idea to dissolve the yeast first with a bit of water (I didn’t do it and I think it was better). When the dry ingredients are well mixed, then add the egg and the water.

I didn’t use a KitchenAid, cause I don’t own one (but I so much dream of having one), I just mixed everything with my hands. Than add the butter and knead for at least 10 minutes.

Put the dough in an oiled bowl and cover the bowl with a hot wet towel. Let rise in a warm place for 1 hour or until it’s double in size.

Buns

The filling:

While the dough rises chop the onions, heat some olive oil (about 1 tablespoon) and fry the onions until smooth. Add the jamon and fry it for 1 or 2 minutes, add the tomato paste and then season with oregano, salt and pepper. Let it stay on the stove for another minute. Now the filling is finished and delicious.

The buns:

When the dough has doubled  in size pinch a little part of the dough and form a small ball. Divide the entire dough into small balls ( I think i got around 25) and let them stay for 10 minutes. Flatten the balls and then fill the dough with the filling, close the bun with a pinch and put it with the pinched part on the bottom. You should let rest the buns directly in the tray or on the rack that goes in the oven, cause if you move them they will most probably deflate. Let them rise again for another 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to high, or 350 degrees F.

Brush gently the buns with th egg wash (add sesame seeds or poppy seeds if you like – I didn’t do it) and then bake them for 12-15 minutes.

I guarantee that your house will smell beautyfully and you and your loved ones will love the taste and the crunchy top.

Please tell me what you think about them!

Bon appetit!

4 Comments

Filed under Baking, Recipes, Snacks

4 responses to “Buns on fire

  1. limeandlemon

    looks delicious … looks alot like some loaves i make myself … but different fillings … love ur ideas .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

  2. ralukmica

    @Laila: thank you so much! It’s nice to know that somebody reads my blog so often 🙂
    Your recipes look nice also! I will try the one for tabbouleh!

  3. glad to have found your site. just making chocolate brownies but not perfected the recipe yet. any thoughts . Regards Laura

    • ralukmica

      @Laura thank you very much. I think probably the best important thing in bownies is the chocolate or cocoa powder you’re using, and maybe adding a bit of alchool like cognac and some cherries will be nice.

Leave a Reply

