Sunday Specials: Chocolate Mousse Cake

Well in our family there is a tradition. Each Sunday we go and have lunch with the grandparents fromm my mother’s side. Everybody knows that. And it’s great cause my grandmother  it’s a wonderful cook and we love eating :).

Because i dream of being a chef someday (although nobody takes me really seriously, and my mother even told me that this is not possible cause all the good chefs are man…I think she’s wrong and I still try), I started do prepare something for them to eat each Sunday. I made bread, or biscuits and this weekend I found a delicious looking recipe on Baking for the cure blog, and i had to try it even though I don’t really like chocolate (Yes I know this is insane 🙂 ).

Here it is…I tell you it looks great and it’s so tasty!

Outrageous Chocolate Mousse

Ingredients:

Base:

250 gr bitter sweet chocolate – I used 75% cocoa chocolate

125 gr unsalted butter

1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon cocoa powder

5 egg yolks

5 egg whites

70 gr sugar

pinch of salt

Mousse:

200 gr bitter sweet chocolate

4 eggs

1  teaspoon almond extract

1 tablespoon Havana Club Rum

200 ml heavy cream (sweet cream 32% fat)

Choco mousse detail

How to make the base:

Melt together the butter and chocolate over bain marie (water bath). Mix in the cocoa powder until well combined and then add one after  another the egg yolks and mix well until smooth.

Beat the egg whites with a pinch of salt until it forms soft peaks, adding gradually the sugar. Fold gently the whites into the chocolate mixture.

Preheat the oven to medium – 150 degrees C, and wrap a pan with parchment paper.

Pour the base in the pan and bake it in the oven for about 30-45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. I baked it for approximately 25 minutes i guess. Take out the base from the oven and let it chill. Be careful that it will deflate so don’t be disappointed.

Make the mousse:

Melt the chocolate in a bain marie. Add the eggs one after another, the almond extract and the rum and stir until smooth.

Whip the cream until it forms soft peaks and then fold it gently in the chocolate mixture.

When the base is chilled pour the mousse on top and then put the cake in the fridge for at least 2 hours.

I have to admit that my base looked not so nice after I took it out from the oven, so I just used a glass to cut the base in little circles and than i added the mousse on top and let it cool.

If you want you little wonders to look good you can just add some grated chocolate on top as decor.

It’s not for diet but it is so comforting :)!




10 Comments

Filed under Desserts

10 responses to “Sunday Specials: Chocolate Mousse Cake

  1. Mmmmm, this looks incredibly fabulous! Yum!

  2. WOW, that is a serious dessert. It came out fabulous! Hey, guess what? I’m not keen on chocolate either with that said no way would I pass your dessert up!

    Good luck with your dream of becoming a chef!
    ~ingrid

  3. ralukmica

    @ Ingrid: I assure you that even though we don’t like chocolate this cake is fantastic! ;). Thanks for the good wishes!
    @Sara: thank you
    Both your blogs look delicious 🙂

  4. These look sinfully delicious. Insanely appetizing. Love them.

  5. ralukmica

    Thanks Donna! I really appreciate it.

  6. bakingforthecure

    Hi! I`m really glad that you liked the cake, and let me tell you that is is so nice to know that someone makes and enjoys the recipes that you post on your blog. So, thanks! 🙂
    About the base- it does turn out kind of ugly, but this is exactly how it is supposd to look , since it loses almost half of its volume. Ater you cover the base with the mousse, it looks just fine.

  7. Gin

    All I can say is YUMMY. I would love to have a piece of that right now with a cup of coffee. It is freezing here and I can’t think of a better way to warm up!! Thanks for sharing.

  8. ralukmica

    @ Baking for the cure: Thanks so much for your comment! It was a pleasure using (and eating the final product 🙂 ) your recipe and your advice. I will for sure visit your blog again!

  9. limeandlemon

    This looks soo delicious … i cant think of anyone who wouldnt love to eat this … beautiful photos .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

  10. ralukmica

    Thank you Laila!

Leave a Reply

